Wednesday, June 29 2022

ST. PAUL, Minnesota — For the first time since 2019, Macalester Athletics hosted its year-end awards banquet on Monday, May 2 at the Leonard Center. The seniors were individually introduced and welcomed to the Macalester M Club by club chairman Steve Cox. President Macalester Suzanne Rivera addressed the student-athletes, while the athletic director Donnie Brooks served as master of ceremonies.

In a more casual and fun-oriented format, the student-athletes played garden games in the pavilion and enjoyed frozen treats and brownies before the awards portion of the banquet.

Doug Bolstorff M Club Student-Athlete of the Year Award
This award is presented to a student-athlete from a male and female sport at Macalester who has contributed the most to the success of the team through athletic achievement, leadership and academic excellence.

Male sports athleteGabriel Ramos overcame injuries early in his senior year to earn All-MIAC honors as the starting guard for the men’s basketball team. His outstanding play and leadership helped the men’s basketball team enjoy its most successful season in 18 years with 15 wins and a thrilling run to the MIAC playoff finals. Ramos, who returned for a fifth year in 2021-22, averaged 12.1 points and a team-high 6.3 rebounds per game.

Female sports athleteHannah Fat began breaking school pole vault records in her freshman year on campus, and she hasn’t stopped since. His most recent record of 11-9.75 currently ranks among the best performances in all of Division III. In February, Grosse won the pole vault at the MIAC Indoor Championships, becoming the first Scotswoman to win the event in the history of the women’s track and field program.

Dorothy Michel Award – Eleanor Michaud and Mackenzie Clarke
This award honors outstanding junior and senior female student-athletes of the year at Macalester and was established by family, alumni and friends in memory of Dorothy Michel, Chair of the Women’s Physical Education Department from 1946 to 1968 .

JuniorEleonore Michaud had another stellar season for the water polo team, leading the team with 73 steals while ranking second with 30 goals and 47 points. His success earned him a spot on the All-CWPA First Team. Last year, she became the first player in the program to receive first-team All-American honors.

SeniorMackenzie Clarke capped off his outstanding career at Macalester by recording his 100th career hit on senior day yesterday. An All-MIAC performer a year ago, she has helped her team improve each season through her leadership and skills at the plate and on the field.

David C. Primrose Endowment Award – Declan Elias
This award recognizes the Outstanding Junior Male Student-Athlete of the Year at Macalester and was created by family, friends and former students in memory of David C. Primrose, Director of Physical Education and Coach of Macalester Athletics from 1926 to 1954.

Declan Elias had a stellar year on the mound for the Scots, posting an ERA of just 1.01. He also has 49 strikeouts in 26 2/3 innings while walking just nine. Elias is also an outstanding student majoring in Applied Mathematics and Statistics and Computer Science.

George E. Scotten Endowment Award – Jack Muller
This award recognizes the outstanding senior male student-athlete of the year at Macalester and was created anonymously by fellow member of George E. Scotten’s class of 1921 in honor of the man who ran the Macalester Admissions Office for 30 years.

Jack Muller provided a physical presence for the men’s football team as a central midfielder, winning battles and setting up teammates. An All-MIAC selection this year, he assisted on the game-winning goal in Scotland’s victory over Augsburg in the MIAC playoffs. Muller will graduate next week with a degree in biology.

Academic team of the year
This award honors the top men’s and women’s teams that achieve the highest cumulative grade point averages.

cross country men
Soft ball

The Rider Cup – Danielle Freshwaters and Mark Baumeister
This award is presented in memory of Janis Rider to a male and female student-athlete who excels in two or more sports, is a talented scholar, and is involved in community service.

Head Cross Country and Track and Field Coach Dan Schofer said about Danielle Sweet Waters“Danielle has been a mainstay in our cross country and track program for four years. Her work ethic and concern for others are phenomenal, and she sets the tone for our group in terms of competitive spirit and unity. team.”

On Marc Baumeistersays Schofer, “Mark is one of the inspirational leaders on our team. He works hard and encourages his teammates to do the same. Mark’s positivity, enthusiasm and drive are contagious.”

Force Shield Rewards
This award is given to a senior male and female student-athlete who has demonstrated commitment, leadership and a strong work ethic in the weight room throughout their four years as a student-athlete ; a person who has demonstrated the ability to succeed and help the teammates around him reach their full athletic potential.

Male Sports Athlete – Gabriel Ramos

Female Sports Athlete – Tenley Smith

Iron Scot Rewards
These awards are given to student-athletes who have met or exceeded the strength and conditioning standards for their respective sports.

Anouchka Fernando
Will Moscato
Anthony Palma
Kenny Rodriguez
Jack Connor
Quinn Hodgman
Charlie Burton
Michael Moreno
Archer Wingard
Joe Margolis
Evan Burns
Erik Hager
Cam Scholl
Alec Degan

men’s basketball
Tom Andreae
Armando Akapo-Nwagbo
Robert Grace IV

women’s basketball
Solana Cushing
Andrea Palmen
Caitlin Panos
Celine Sabbagh

cross country men
cole peske
Lachlan Witt

male golf
Tommy Hayes
ryan vaver

female golf
Phebe Chen
Emma Iverson
Tenley Smith

Troy Barksdale
Will Brazgel
Noah Bresson
Riley Cogan
Nathan Gottlieb
Jacob Hellenbrand
Cam Latvis
Logan Pampel
Matt Smalbach
Brady Thompson

men’s soccer
Zade Alafranji
Alexis Bromberg
Nathan Corbett

Women’s football
Mia Brisbin
Rachel Colson
Rashi Da Silva
Caighley Espardinez
Mikaely Evans
baela funk
Lucy Grochulska
Sarah Hamilton
Livi Novello
Jocelyn Radke
Ella Shorts

Soft ball
Emilie Bergin
Regan Brodine
Elsa’s Church
Mackenzie Clarke
Sophie Futchko
Anna Leidner
Mandy Morrical
Renee Nicholson

Swimming and diving men
Benjamin Blomquist
Brian Pryzby
Ramier Villarama

Women’s swimming and diving
Isabelle Capecci
Caroline Chapon
Izabel Cox-Faxon
Olga Merkadeau
Natalie Pollock

Men’s Tennis
Anton Korolev
Owen Lindstrom

women’s tennis
Lucy McNees
Megan Twomey

Men’s Athletics
Mason Bosley
Arlo Heitler
Spencer McNall

Women’s athletics
Hannah Fat
Sara Gregoire
Sarah Beth Hobbies

Torrance Williams

Water polo
Malia Borg
Kendall Coney
Sydney Hollingsworth
Elizabeth Matlin
Eleonore Michaud


HARD Events announces lineup for HARD Summer Music Festival 2022


From falling Netflix stocks to mass layoffs, anxiety grips Hollywood

Check Also